MACHINE LEARNING GROUP

TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT KAISERSLAUTERN

Welcome to the Machine Learning Group at Technische Universität Kaiserslautern

The Machine Learning Group at TU Kaiserslautern was established at HU Berlin in 2014 and moved to TU Kaiserslautern in 2017. The group currently comprises professors, postdocs, PhD students, administrative / technical support staff and student assistants. The group is interested in theory and algorithms of statistical machine learning (especially deep learning) and its applications. Our research covers a broad range of topics and applications, where we try to unify theoretically proven approaches (e.g., based on learning theory) with recent advances (e.g., in deep learning or reinforcement learning). Topics we have been working on include multi-modal learning, anomaly detection, extreme classification, adversarial learning, explainable AI, and applications of ML in the life sciences, mechanical and chemical process engineering, and text analysis. Members of the group have received various awards, including the Google Most Influential Papers Award, the ICML and NIPS Best Reviewer Awards, and the Emmy-Noether Career Award (DFG). The group contributes the community with helpful service. Members of the group have been reviewing for more than 50 conferences and 30 journals. They have been serving as associate editors for journals (JMLR, TNNLS) and area chairs of conferences (AAAI, AISTATS, and ECML). The group is committed to improving the diversity, equity, and inclusion in the field of ML. This is evidenced by the high percentage of women in the group, on all levels of academic qualification.

Research Group

Faculty


Prof. Dr. Marius Kloft

Professor

E-mail
kloft@cs.uni-kl.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Sophie Burkhardt

Junior Professor

E-mail
burkhardt@cs.uni-kl.de

Administration


Heike Neu

Secretary

E-mail
neu@cs.uni-kl.de

Steffen Reithermann

Technician & administrative assistant

E-mail
reithermann@cs.uni-kl.de

Janine Mertel

Contact person for HiWi contract matters

E-mail
ml-hiwi-matters@cs.uni-kl.de

Postdocs


Nooshin Haji-Ghassemi

Postdoc

E-mail
nooshin@cs.uni-kl.de

Dr. Antoine Ledent

Postdoc

E-mail
ledent@cs.uni-kl.de

PhD students


Rodrigo Alves

PhD student

E-mail
alves@cs.uni-kl.de

Billy Franks

PhD student

E-mail
b_franks12@cs.uni-kl.de

Naghmeh Ghanooni

PhD student

E-mail
ghanooni@cs.uni-kl.de

Charu James

PhD student

E-mail
charu@cs.uni-kl.de

Matthias Kirchler

PhD student

E-mail
matt.kirchler@gmail.com

WeiChen Li

PhD student

E-mail
weichen@cs.uni-kl.de

Philipp Liznerski

PhD student

E-mail
liznerski@cs.uni-kl.de

Waleed Mustafa

PhD student

E-mail
mustafa@cs.uni-kl.de

Phil Ostheimer

PhD student

E-mail
ostheimer@cs.uni-kl.de

Saurabh Varshneya

PhD student

E-mail
varshneya@cs.uni-kl.de

Dennis Wagner

PhD student

E-mail
wagnerd@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Student assistants


Ahmed Anwar

Student Assistant

E-mail

Andrew Balinski

Student Assistant

E-mail
a_balinski18@cs.uni-kl.de

Anshu Garg

Student Assistant

E-mail
garga@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Shradha Ghansiyal

Student Assistant

E-mail
ghansiya@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Geri Gokaj

Student Assistant

E-mail
ggokaj@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Tom Kollmer

Student Assistant

E-mail
tkollmer@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Luís Mercado

Student Assistant

E-mail
lawmercado@inf.ufrgs.br

Tobias Michels

Student Assistant

E-mail
t_michels15@cs.uni-kl.de

Nikita Mundra

Student Assistant

E-mail

Ghanooni Arani Naghmeh

Student Assistant

E-mail

Denys Senkin

Student Assistant

E-mail
dsenkin@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Till Werner

Student Assistant

E-mail
t_werner17@cs.uni-kl.de

Justus Will

Student Assistant

E-mail
juwill@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Alumni

  • Dr. Robert Vandermeulen - PostDoc, 2017-2020; now: PostDoc, TU Berlin
  • Florian Wenzel - PhD student, 2015-2019; now: Researcher, Google Brain
  • Yunwen Lei - Alexander-von-Humboldt Fellow, 2019-2020; now: Lecturer, University of Birmingham, UK

Jobs

You can find information about opened positions accessing the Group's Admission system.