MACHINE LEARNING GROUP

TECHNISCHE UNIVERSITÄT KAISERSLAUTERN

Welcome to the Machine Learning Group at Technische Universität Kaiserslautern

The Machine Learning Group at TU Kaiserslautern was established at HU Berlin in 2014 and moved to TU Kaiserslautern in 2017. The group currently comprises professors, postdoc, PhD students, and student assistants. The group is interested in theory and algorithms of statistical machine learning (especially deep learning) and its applications. Our research covers a broad range of topics and applications, where we try to unify theoretically proven approaches (e.g., based on learning theory) with recent advances (e.g., in deep learning or reinforcement learning). Topics we have been working on include multi-modal learning, anomaly detection, extreme classification, adversarial learning, explainable AI, and applications of ML in the life sciences, chemical engineering, and text analysis. Members of the group have received various awards, including the Google Most Influential Papers Award, the ICML and NIPS Best Reviewer Awards, and the Emmy-Noether Career Award (DFG). The group contributes the community with helpful service. Members of the group have been reviewing for more than 50 conferences and 30 journals. They have been serving as associate editor for journals (JMLR, TNNLS) and area chair of conferences (AAAI, AISTATS, and ECML). The group is committed to improving the diversity, equity, and inclusion in the machine learning field as evidenced for example by the high percentage of women on all levels of academic qualifications.

Research Group

Faculty


Prof. Dr. Marius Kloft

Professor

E-mail
kloft@cs.uni-kl.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Sophie Burkhardt

Junior professor

E-mail
burkhardt@cs.uni-kl.de

Administration


Heike Neu

Secretary

E-mail
neu@cs.uni-kl.de

Steffen Reithermann

Technician & administrative assistant

E-mail
reithermann@cs.uni-kl.de

Post Docs


Dr. Antoine Ledent

Post Doc

E-mail
ledent@cs.uni-kl.de

PhD students


Rodrigo Alves

PhD student

E-mail
alves@cs.uni-kl.de

Muhammad Dorgham

PhD student

E-mail
dorgham@cs.uni-kl.de

Naghmeh Ghanooni

PhD student

E-mail
ghanooni@cs.uni-kl.de

Matthias Kirchler

PhD student

E-mail
matt.kirchler@gmail.com

Waleed Mustafa

PhD student

E-mail
wmustafa@cs.uni-kl.de

Saurabh Varshneya

PhD student

E-mail
varshneya@cs.uni-kl.de

Billy Franks

PhD student

E-mail
b_franks12@cs.uni-kl.de

Philipp Liznerski

PhD student

E-mail
liznerski@cs.uni-kl.de

Dennis Wagner

PhD student

E-mail
wagnerd@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Phil Ostheimer

PhD student

E-mail
ostheimer@cs.uni-kl.de

Student assistants


Andrew Balinski

Student Assistant

E-mail
a_balinski18@cs.uni-kl.de

Geri Gokaj

Student Assistant

E-mail
ggokaj@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Tobias Michels

Student Assistant

E-mail
t_michels15@cs.uni-kl.de

Luís Mercado

Student Assistant

E-mail
lawmercado@inf.ufrgs.br

Denys Senkin

Student Assistant

E-mail
dsenkin@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Till Werner

Student Assistant

E-mail
t_werner17@cs.uni-kl.de

Shradha Ghansiyal

Student Assistant

E-mail
-

Tom Kollmer

Student Assistant

E-mail
-

Justus Will

Student Assistant

E-mail
juwill@rhrk.uni-kl.de

Alumni

Jobs

You can find information about opened positions accessing the Group's Admission system.

Contact

Scientific matters: Marius Kloft and Sophie Burkhardt

Secretary (personal assistant to MK and SB): Heike Neu

Grant and server administration: Steffen Reithermann



Mail address

TU Kaiserslautern
Department of Computer Science
Machine Learning Group
P.O. Box 3049
D-67653 Kaiserslautern
GERMANY